Take This Step Now to Avoid Being Locked Out of Your Spotify Family Account

Lifehacker Tech by 3 min read 78x views
Take This Step Now to Avoid Being Locked Out of Your Spotify Family Account

Share Post

Emily Long is a freelance author based in Salt Lake City.

After graduating from Duke University, she spent multiple years reporting on the national workforce for Government Executive, a publish of Atlantic Media Company, in Washington, D.C. She has nearly a decade of cognition as a freelancer covering tech (including issues connected to security, privacy, and streaming) as fine as individual backing and travel.

In supplement to Lifehacker, her activity has been featured on Wirecutter, Tom’s Guide, and ZDNET. Emily has additionally worked as a journey guide about the U.S. and as a satisfied editor. She has a masters in social activity and is a licensed therapist in Utah.


If you are on a Spotify Family plan, you may need to verify your location to keep your document active. Like many streaming services, Spotify is cracking downward on family sharing for users who don't live in the identical family by requiring QR code verification for several scheme members—and formerly prompted, you must verify inside seven days or hazard being locked out of Family and Duo plans for a complete year.

Spotify family scheme verification rules

Spotify does necessitate users on shared plans to verify their location whenever they associate to verify that they live alongside the scheme director and to re-verify if the director changes addresses. Users may additionally be prompted via to re-enter their complete location if Spotify "can't confirm" their location. This evidently doesn't forestall users from sharing plans, as Spotify isn't really tracking your location but fairly cross-checking addresses.

Some users may commencement seeing a QR code verification requirement, which has stricter parameters and may be additional difficult to get about if scheme members aren't in the identical location. In these cases, the scheme director must open a QR code on their phone via Profile > Your Premium > Manage, and scheme members must scan it alongside the camera on their phone.

According to Spotify's assistance page, the two users must be in the identical location to complete the scan, and the QR code changes all few seconds, making it difficult to dispatch screenshots to anyone not current in person. However, as 9to5Google notes, several users have been capable to activity about these restrictions alongside video calls, using multiple devices to complete the scans.

What do you think so far?

If you are prompted to complete location verification either by email or QR code, create certain you do it inside seven days of the notification—otherwise you'll be endure admission and be downgraded to a liberated plan. Spotify says that you can rejoin the identical Family or Duo scheme again, but you'll be restricted from joining a distinct shared scheme for a complete year.

Emily Long is a freelance author based in Salt Lake City.

Other Article Lifehacker Tech
↑
Close Right Ads
Close Left Ads