
Google Ads, arsenic we covered earlier, made changes to Target CPA & Target ROAS. But now, Google sent retired an email astir moreover much changes starting connected August 17, 2026 astir bidding for campaigns constricted by budget. It seems for illustration this bidding update will extremity up costing advertisers moreover much money. Although, I deliberation we covered immoderate of this alteration over here location are now a batch much specifications connected what is changing.
Google said, "Starting August 17, 2026, Google is updating its bidding systems to present much predictable run performance. This update applies to Search, Shopping, Performance Max, and Demand Gen campaigns that usage a target-based bid strategy (e.g. Target CPA, Target ROAS)."
Specifically, "Campaigns that are constricted by fund that usage a target-based bid strategy will much consistently execute toward your target, including erstwhile you make fund adjustments." Previously, "when a run is constricted by budget, it whitethorn execute amended than the target you've set. When you summation your fund for these campaigns, it's difficult to cognize precisely what capacity to expect," Google explained.
Today, erstwhile your run has a "Limited by budget" status, if you usage a Target-based bid strategy (for example, Target CPA aliases Target ROAS), immoderate campaigns whitethorn beryllium overperforming connected bidding targets and spot capacity fluctuations erstwhile budgets are adjusted. After August 17, 2026, campaigns that are constricted by fund that usage a target-based bid strategy will much consistently execute toward your bid target, including erstwhile you make fund adjustments truthful you tin turn your campaigns pinch much predictable performance.
Here is the illustration Google provided:
If your campaign's Target CPA is $10, but your caller existent CPA capacity is $5, your run will present much intimately to a $10 existent CPA starting August 17, 2026 if nary changes are made. If you are satisfied pinch capacity astatine your existent target, nary action is required. If you want to support your campaign's caller capacity you tin update your target to $5. You tin besides determine your target based connected the capacity you want and your business goals.Google posted this each cheery video:
Google has a batch much item connected these changes over here.
Google updated its thief documents for About Target CPA bidding and About Target ROAS bidding to archive these changes.
Google posted a container that says:
Important: Starting August 17, 2026, Google is updating its bidding systems to present much accordant and predictable capacity for campaigns that are constricted by budget. If your campaigns usage Target CPA aliases Target ROAS, these changes whitethorn origin impermanent capacity and postulation fluctuations. To study really to prepare, reappraisal your settings, and usage the caller Bid Target Adjustment Tool (available starting connected July 6, 2026).I urge comparing the About Target CPA bidding to the older version and the About Target ROAS bidding to the older version.
Google recommends that you reappraisal your campaigns that are "Limited by budget" and are utilizing target-based bid strategies by August 17, 2026. Ensure your settings align pinch your business goals, particularly for campaigns that are performing amended than your targets. Google will not automatically set your bidding targets aliases budgets.
To thief you reappraisal your campaigns, you’ll person a notification successful your Google Ads relationship guiding you to a caller instrumentality starting July 6, 2026, wherever you tin reappraisal humanities run capacity and quickly use updates.
If you want to support existent capacity for campaigns that are performing amended than your targets, prime “Apply” to update your targets based connected the capacity shown successful the tool. If you're happy pinch your existent bidding targets, nary action is needed.
Additionally, you ever person the action to summation your fund to confidently standard your campaigns and seizure much measurement astatine your stated targets.
Google did email Arpan Banerjee and different Google Ads advertisers astir this change, present is the email that Arpan posted connected LinkedIn:

Forum chat astatine LinkedIn.
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