What Is Conversion Rate Optimization?
Conversion complaint optimization (CRO) is the process of expanding the percent of visitors who return a desired action (purchasing, signing up for a free trial, booking a demo. etc.) connected your website aliases mobile app.
It’s important because converting much visitors into leads and customers tin turn your business. And tin beryllium calculated by dividing your number of conversions by the number of visitors, and past multiplying that by 100.
Here’s what the look looks like:

CRO often involves:
- Tracking wherever visitors travel from, really they navigate your site, and wherever they driblet off
- Conducting surveys and A/B tests to cognize your audience’s needs, preferences, and symptom points
- Improving website design, content, and calls to action (CTAs) to create a amended personification acquisition that drives conversions
Let’s opportunity you tally an ecommerce shop pinch the pursuing stats:
- Monthly visitors: 100,000
- Current conversion rate: 2%
- Average bid worth (AOV): $50
With these numbers, your existent monthly gross is: 100,000 x 0.02 x 50 = $100,000
Now ideate that you summation your conversion complaint from 2% to 2.5% by implementing immoderate CRO techniques.
Your caller monthly gross becomes: 100,000 x 0.025 x 50 = $125,000
That’s a 25% summation successful revenue—an further $25,000 per month—gained without spending other money connected postulation acquisition.
How to Do Conversion Rate Optimization successful 6 Steps
Here’s a six-step process to thief you optimize your conversions:
1. Set Your Conversion Goals
Start by identifying important conversions that align pinch your business objectives.
These tin alteration based connected your niche.
For an endeavor package company, expanding demo requests could beryllium a conversion goal. Whereas an ecommerce business could beryllium looking astatine orders arsenic a conversion goal.
Once you person a clear thought astir your target conversions, adhd them arsenic cardinal events successful Google Analytics 4 (GA4) to group up conversion tracking. (Read our elaborate guideline to set up GA4 conversion tracking to study more).

Then, cheque your existent performance.
If 1,000 group visited your website and 50 of them converted, your conversion complaint is: (50 / 1000) x 100 = 5%
Now, comparison your existent conversion complaint to manufacture benchmarks to get a consciousness of really you’re performing.
For example, the mean conversion complaint for ecommerce sites is 4.2%. But for ineligible and financial services, it’s 6.3% and 8.3% respectively, according to Unbounce’s Conversion Benchmark Report.
If your conversion complaint is beneath the manufacture average, there's apt room for improvement.
2. Identify Where Users Drop Off
Next, usage custom chimney reports successful GA4 to analyse your users’ journeys, the steps they return to complete circumstantial tasks connected your site, and the number of visitors that driblet disconnected successful betwixt these steps.

This will thief you place the pages aliases steps successful your chimney wherever users time off without converting.
Some examples of pages that you mightiness want to salary attraction to see your homepage, pricing pages, checkout pages, and landing pages.
Also analyse these key metrics successful your GA4 to understand the important factors impacting your conversion rates:
- Bounce rate: This is the percent of visitors who time off without engaging. Pay adjacent attraction to the bounce complaint connected your landing pages and merchandise pages. High bounce rates connected these pages whitethorn bespeak you request to amended your messaging and/or personification experience.
- Cart abandonment rate: This tells you really often users time off their shopping carts without purchasing. Analyze abandonment rates and checkout steps to place clash points (e.g., precocious shipping costs aliases lengthy forms).
- Time connected page: Low clip connected page could bespeak that users aren’t uncovering your contented valuable. Or that they’re distracted by different elements connected the page.
- Scroll depth: Track really acold users scroll to spot if they are reaching important elements for illustration CTAs aliases forms. If not, see adjusting the layout.
It’s a bully thought to usage devices for illustration Hotjar aliases Crazy Egg to much afloat understand really users interact pinch your site. And wherever precisely they look issues.
You tin usage these insights erstwhile creating hypotheses for your CRO experiments later on.
3. Gather Data About Your Users
Once you’ve identified your drop-off points, stitchery personification information to find retired what could beryllium making users time off your tract without converting.
You tin get this accusation done online surveys aliases feedback forms. Ask questions like:
- What stopped you from completing your acquisition today? (To get nonstop feedback connected issues for illustration unreasonable pricing, deficiency of trust, aliases mediocre usability.)
- Was location thing confusing aliases frustrating astir the process? (To uncover symptom points successful navigation, the costs gateway, etc.)
- Was location thing you were looking for coming that you couldn’t find? (To place gaps successful your contented aliases merchandise offerings.)
- Did you acquisition immoderate method issues during your visit? (To place glitches that could disrupt the buyer’s journey.)
- On a standard of 1-10, really easy was it to complete your extremity connected our site? (To quantify the wide personification acquisition of your site.)
Next, cod accusation astir your larger target audience.
Gather this information pinch easiness utilizing the One2Target tool.
Launch the tool, participate up to 5 domains successful your niche, and click “Analyze.”
(Your target assemblage is apt to beryllium very akin to aliases the aforesaid arsenic your main rivals’).

The “Demographics” tab shows accusation for illustration property groups, gender, and location.

Head to the “Socioeconomics” tab to find specifications astir your audience’s mean family size, employment status, income level, and acquisition level.

Click the “Behavior” tab to get insights into users’ preferred devices, websites, and societal media platforms.

Use this accusation to refine your messaging.
Let's opportunity information shows that the mostly of your assemblage members autumn wrong the 35-44 property group, unrecorded successful a family pinch 3 to 4 people, and activity afloat time.
This apt indicates that a ample information of your assemblage is made up of moving parents. So, you should tailor your messaging to reside their needs and preferences.
4. Develop Hypotheses
Based connected the insights you’ve gathered, place 1 problem you want to lick and create a presumption to service arsenic the ground of your conversion complaint optimization experiment.
Here’s what you request to create a hypothesis:
- Problem statement: “Users wantonness the carts because the checkout page requires them to registry first”
- Proposed solution: “Add a impermanent checkout action connected the checkout page”
- Expected outcome: “This alteration will amended acquisition conversions by 2%”
Based connected the supra information, the presumption would be:
“Offering a impermanent checkout action alongside the modular registration process during checkout will cart abandonmentand summation acquisition conversions by 2%.”
Here are immoderate wide ideas to see for different pages:
- Homepage: Better pass your value proposition and guarantee easy navigation
- Landing pages: Keep landing pages applicable to users’ search intent aliases your advertisement run and minimize shape fields
- Product aliases work pages: Emphasize benefits complete features, usage high-quality visuals, and show customer reviews to build spot and credibility
- Pricing page: Simplify the layout, intelligibly outline pricing tiers and features, and see spot signals for illustration testimonials and guarantees
- CTA buttons: Ensure buttons guidelines retired and trial the text, color, size, and placement
- Blog pages: Add targeted CTAs (e.g., “Download this guide” aliases “Subscribe to our newsletter”) and optimize for lead seizure by offering applicable free resources
5. Run an A/B Test
The adjacent measurement is to execute an A/B test (also known arsenic a divided test), which lets you comparison 2 variations of a page aliases constituent to spot which performs better.
You should creation a trial page pinch 2 variations (A and B) to spot the effect of your projected solution.
Variation A (control) is the existing unrecorded page connected site. And variety B (test) is the caller page.
If we usage the aforesaid illustration hypotheses from before, these will be:
- Variation A: The existing checkout process that requires users to registry aliases log successful to complete their purchase
- Variation B: A modified checkout process that includes an action to bargain arsenic a impermanent without registration
Push some pages unrecorded and instrumentality a 302 redirect that randomly redirects users to each of the 2 versions (you whitethorn request to activity pinch a developer for help).

Alternatively, usage a instrumentality that takes attraction of the method specifications for you. Like the Landing Page Builder app.
This instrumentality makes it elemental to group up a landing page and copy it to tally A/B tests.

Run the research for a fewer weeks—depending connected the size of your assemblage and expected postulation to that page.
For smaller sites pinch less visitors, you whitethorn request to widen the testing play to stitchery capable information for statistical significance.
If you person a high-traffic website, you whitethorn beryllium capable to cod capable information successful a shorter clip frame.
6. Track Results, Iterate, and Improve
Monitor your A/B trial results to spot really conversions are impacted.
If the results align pinch your hypothesis, you tin see your A/B trial to beryllium successful. And use what you learned.
If the results don’t support your hypothesis, analyse different metrics to summation penetration into what’s going on. And usage these insights to refine your presumption for the adjacent test.
Note that conversion optimization is an ongoing process. Which intends you’ll want to continuously test.
It’s besides a bully thought to support a grounds of your experiments and the results to pass early conversion complaint optimization and trading efforts
Get Started pinch CRO by Understanding Your Audience
Conversion complaint optimization requires continuous loop and betterment connected your tract to align it pinch your audience’s wants and needs.
Which intends thorough assemblage investigation is the cardinal to a successful CRO strategy.
Semrush’s One2Target instrumentality provides accusation astir your audience’s preferences, behaviors, and symptom points to thief you summation insights that you tin use to thrust much conversions.