Emily Long is a freelance author based in Salt Lake City.
After graduating from Duke University, she spent multiple years reporting on the national workforce for Government Executive, a publish of Atlantic Media Company, in Washington, D.C. She has nearly a decade of cognition as a freelancer covering tech (including issues connected to security, privacy, and streaming) as fine as individual backing and travel.
In supplement to Lifehacker, her activity has been featured on Wirecutter, Tom’s Guide, and ZDNET. Emily has additionally worked as a journey guide about the U.S. and as a satisfied editor. She has a masters in social activity and is a licensed therapist in Utah.
In latest weeks, Google has been automatically connecting Android users' phone numbers to all Google document they are signed into on their devices—without requesting consent to do so. This method that if you are logged into personal, work, and available accounts on your Android phone, Google may have silently verified and connected your figure alongside all of them equal if you've deliberately kept them separate. If you that's not item you want, there's a way to fix it.
Google is automatically verifying Android users' phone numbers
As Android Authority reports, several Android users have lately received confirmation emails from an authoritative Google location stating that their phone figure has been verified. Google has required occasional phone figure re-verification but appears to have updated its assistance records concerning a twelvemonth ago to create this characteristic opt-out by default. As part of this process, Google additionally adds your phone figure to all Google Accounts that are signed in on the device, including current accounts and phone numbers and any that are added or updated in the future.
You can alter your phone figure verification settings on Android
Disable automatic phone figure verification
If you have an Android device, you can disable automatic phone figure verification, which should forestall Google from linking sign-in accounts together. You can discover this toggle in your Settings app under Google or Google services and preferences > All Services > Privacy & Security > Phone figure verification. (Note that the exact way may differ by device.) You should periodically inspect to justify this toggle remains off.
Delete connected numbers from accounts already linked
Updating this environment does not disconnect phone numbers and Google accounts that have already been linked. You can discover out which are which via your Google Account Personal Info page. Select your overview image in the upper-right border to go through all signed-in document and open the Phone division to choose and delete any numbers you don't desire associated.
Review your Security & sign-in settings
Finally, Malwarebytes advises scrolling downward to the Usage division on the Phone leaf to perspective which services are listed as fine as reviewing your Security & sign-in settings. If you added your phone figure for two-step verification or to a distinct app akin Google Pay, deleting it from the Phone leaf won't eliminate it entirely from your account, and you'll need to update those settings separately. Automatic phone verification shouldn't be the culprit here, but it's helpful to audit what your figure is being used for and on which accounts if you desire to keep things separate.
Emily Long is a freelance author based in Salt Lake City.