You request to measure the correct societal media metrics (data points that uncover capacity insights) to understand really good your efforts are paying off.
But it tin beryllium challenging to place the nonstop metrics you should track.
To make it easier, we’ve compiled a database of 19 societal media metrics you tin study to find which ones should make your list.
But first, let’s commencement pinch the basics.
Social media metrics are quantitative and qualitative information points that tin thief you measurement your capacity connected societal channels. To uncover what’s moving and what’s not.
For instance, if you spot that a peculiar type of station is getting a batch of engagement, you cognize your assemblage likes that content. And you tin create much for illustration it.
For example, this station connected our LinkedIn page suggests our assemblage is willing successful events:

More specifically, search metrics allows you to:
- Understand your audience: Some metrics fto you spot who your followers are and what contented they prosecute pinch the most. This tin thief you tailor your contented based connected their preferences.
- Optimize your budget: If you’re spending money connected ads arsenic good arsenic integrated (unpaid) societal posts, measuring results helps you spot if you’re getting bully returns connected these tactics. And provides you pinch accusation you tin usage to set really you allocate funds.
- Identify trends: Tracking societal media metrics makes it easier to spot trends and shifts successful assemblage behavior. Which tin thief you enactment up of your competition.
- Justify investment: Monitoring capacity makes it easier to beryllium the worth of your societal media efforts to stakeholders
- Find ways to improve: Keeping tabs connected your capacity tin springiness you ideas connected what to do much of and what should beryllium adjusted
We’ve divided these social media marketing metrics into categories. So you tin attraction connected the ones that are astir applicable to you.
Here are a fewer cardinal metrics to assess marque awareness connected societal media:
Audience Growth Rate
Audience maturation complaint measures the percent summation successful your followers aliases subscribers complete a circumstantial clip period. It helps you understand really efficaciously you’re attracting caller audiences and makes it easy to comparison 1 clip scope to another.
Here’s the look to cipher your assemblage maturation rate:
Audience maturation complaint = [(number of followers successful existent play – number of followers from erstwhile period) / number of followers from erstwhile period] x 100
If you ended December pinch 5,000 followers and ended March pinch 8,000 followers, your floor plan saw 3,000 caller followers. This intends your floor plan knowledgeable a 60% assemblage maturation complaint complete that quarter.
Tools for illustration Social Tracker tin thief you benchmark your assemblage maturation complaint against your competitors’ rates. You tin besides measure the full number of followers/subscribers for aggregate brands crossed different platforms.

Impressions
Impressions mention to the number of times a societal media station is viewed. To springiness you a consciousness of your visibility connected a platform.
Here’s an illustration of 1 of our posts that received complete 105,000 impressions:

You tin measurement impressions for circumstantial posts, for peculiar campaigns, aliases crossed your full beingness connected a platform. To get a afloat position of your content’s performance.
Video Views
Video views correspond the number of times group person watched your videos, depending connected each platform’s criteria for what a position is. And this metric shows really overmuch visibility your video contented is receiving.
For example, this video connected Semrush’s YouTube transmission has garnered complete 7 cardinal views.

Keep successful mind that different societal media platforms person different definitions of what counts arsenic a video view.
For instance, YouTube counts it arsenic a position aft 30 seconds. While Instagram and Facebook count it a position aft 3 seconds.
Brand Mentions
Brand mentions are erstwhile group usage your marque sanction (whether you’re tagged aliases not) successful their contented aliases comments. And they thief you spot really often group talk astir you connected societal media—and what those users opportunity astir your brand.
For example, an X (formerly Twitter) personification posted astir the easiness of designing pinch Canva—without tagging the brand. Even so, Canva commented connected this post.

You tin besides analyse people’s perceptions of your marque done sentiment analysis. Which reveals really group consciousness astir your brand—whether it’s positive, negative, aliases neutral.
The Brand Monitoring instrumentality offers a speedy and easy measurement to way marque mentions and sentiment.
You tin select marque mentions based connected aggregate factors for illustration keywords, country, day range, and more. And filtering by root lets you look specifically for mentions crossed societal platforms for illustration Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, TikTok, and YouTube.

The instrumentality analyzes the sentiment for each marque mention. Which you tin spot astatine the bottommost of the post.

You tin besides group up alerts for your marque and competitors. To get notified whenever these brands are mentioned.
Go to the “Analytics” tab to get a much holistic look astatine your mentions, sentiment, and more.

Consider search these engagement metrics for societal media:
Reactions
Reactions are basal engagements (like, love, laugh, etc.) that correspond what users deliberation astir your content. And supply penetration into which types of contented resonate pinch group the most.
For instance, having respective posts pinch a precocious number of "Funny" reactions connected LinkedIn suggests you mightiness want to attraction connected lighthearted aliases entertaining posts.
Like SEO-focused creator Liam Fallen does pinch posts like this:

This beardown engagement reflects that Fallen’s assemblage appreciates a playful approach.
Comments are responses from followers (and non-followers) connected your posts. They tin beryllium positive, negative, aliases neutral.
Comments uncover topics group consciousness powerfully about. That’s because penning a remark takes much clip and thought than leaving a reaction.
Plus, you tin see feedback-driven comments arsenic ways to amended your societal media strategy. Or moreover your broader trading efforts.
Here's an illustration of an Instagram station from Editorial Candle that features praise and feedback:

Shares (also called reposts connected definite platforms) are erstwhile your assemblage distributes your contented to their ain network. It’s a bully motion erstwhile group find your contented valuable capable to stock pinch others.
Why?
Because it indicates that they work together pinch your ideas, find your contented inspirational, person an affectional consequence to it, etc.
Here’s an illustration of a personification sharing 1 of our LinkedIn posts:

The much your contented is shared (in ways that propose affirmative sentiment), the much credibility it builds. Further helping you position your marque arsenic a trusted authority successful your industry.
Average View Duration
Average position long measures the mean magnitude of clip group walk watching your video content. And highlights really good your contented keeps viewers engaged.
Here’s the look for measuring mean position duration:
Average position long = full watch clip (in minutes) / full number of views
Let’s opportunity your full watch clip is 100 minutes and the number of views is 50. That intends your mean position long is 2 minutes.
You tin cipher this metric for your full floor plan aliases a circumstantial video.
Average Engagement Rate
Average engagement complaint measures the level of relationship your social media content receives compared to the size of your following. It shows really good your contented resonates pinch audiences.
You tin cipher your mean engagement complaint successful a fewer different ways.
The first is for your full beingness connected a peculiar platform.
Here’s the formula:
Average engagement complaint = [(total number of engagements / full number of posts) / full number of followers] x 100
So, let’s opportunity your relationship has 5,000 followers. You shared 20 posts successful the past period and gained 3,000 engagements. With these numbers, your mean engagement complaint for the period would beryllium 3%.
You tin besides cipher engagement complaint for a azygous post. Just disagreement the full number of engagements the station received by your full number of followers.
Social Analytics makes it easy to spot your mean engagement complaint crossed your profiles successful a glance. So you tin skip the manual calculations.

Amplification Rate
Amplification complaint shows really often your posts are shared by your followers successful narration to the number of followers you have. Which indicates their willingness to show an affinity for your brand.
Here’s the look to cipher the amplification complaint for a societal media profile:
Amplification complaint = [(total number of shares / full number of posts) / full number of followers] x 100
You tin besides way the amplification complaint for a circumstantial station by dividing the number of shares by the full number of followers.
So, let’s opportunity you person 10,000 followers connected a level and 1 of your posts is shared 200 times. Using the formula, the amplification complaint for this station would beryllium 2%.
Let’s look astatine immoderate of the astir important conversion-focused metrics for societal media:
Organic societal postulation is the number of users who get astatine your website via unpaid societal media. Which helps you understand really efficaciously your societal media efforts construe to visits.
To accurately way which platforms and campaigns are bringing traffic, usage Urchin Tracking Module (UTM) codes. These snippets astatine the extremity of URLs make it clear wherever the visitors are from.
You tin adhd UTM links for your website to circumstantial posts (or your profile’s bio). This process is easy pinch Social Poster—which lets you create and schedule posts connected immoderate societal transmission pinch an interactive calendar.
When you schedule a caller post, click connected the “UTM” fastener and adhd the run name, medium, and root (platform name). This automatically adds a UTM nexus to the station to thief you way integrated societal traffic.

Conversions
A conversion occurs erstwhile a personification takes 1 of your desired actions. And your full number of conversions tells you really efficaciously your societal contented inspires action.
The conversions you way will alteration depending connected what you’re aiming to execute pinch your campaigns. For example, personification could make a acquisition connected your website, download your app, aliases subscribe to your newsletter.
You tin measurement conversions done devices for illustration Google Analytics 4 (GA4) by mounting up cardinal events. Check retired our complete guideline connected setting up conversion events connected GA4.

Click-Through Rate
Click-through complaint (CTR) measures the percent of clicks connected a telephone to action (CTA) wrong your societal posts retired of each the times your posts were viewed. A CTA tin beryllium utilized for some integrated and paid societal media posts and could beryllium a nexus to your website, your in-app store, etc.
This metric helps you understand really efficaciously you’re capturing your audience’s liking successful your contented and products.
Here’s the look for an individual post’s (or ad’s) CTR:
Click-through complaint = (total number of clicks / full number of impressions) x 100
So, suppose you adhd a nexus to 1 of your products successful a Facebook post. It’s seen 500 times but only gets 25 clicks. Your CTR would beryllium 5%
This post from LuxenHome includes tags for 2 products and an further CTA to sojourn the shop.

Conversion Rate
Conversion complaint is the percent of group who took a desired action aft clicking connected a nexus wrong your societal media posts aliases ads. It shows really good your societal media trading efforts construe into meaningful actions, specified arsenic app downloads, newsletter sign-ups, aliases purchases.
Here’s the look to cipher your conversion rate:
Conversion complaint = (total number of conversions / full number of clicks) x 100
You tin way this metric for your integrated societal media posts by mounting up conversion search successful GA4.
The instrumentality shares channel-wise conversion rates (called “session cardinal arena rate”). Where “Organic Social” indicates the conversion complaint from users who travel from societal media platforms.

Customer Satisfaction Metrics
Here are immoderate cardinal metrics you tin usage to gauge really happy your customers are pinch your brand:
Net Promoter Score
Net promoter people (NPS) measures loyalty done questions astir customers’ willingness to urge your marque to others. And you tin stock an NPS study connected societal media (by straight messaging your customers aliases sharing a nexus to a survey) that asks existent customers to capable it out.
Customers are categorized into 3 groups based connected their responses:
- Detractors (0–6 people range): Unhappy customers who are apt to move to a competitor and wouldn’t urge your marque to their friends
- Passives (7–8 people range): Neutral customers who don’t consciousness a beardown consciousness of loyalty toward your marque but wouldn’t needfully move to a competing brand
- Promoters (9–10 people range): Satisfied customers who powerfully advocator for your marque and urge you
Here’s the look to cipher NPS:
Net promoter people = (% of promoters – % of detractors)
If 50% of your customers are promoters and 20% are detractors, your NPS would beryllium 30. And it reveals that you person much satisfied customers apt to urge your marque than unsatisfied ones.
But if only 30% of your customers are promoters and 40% are detractors, your NPS would beryllium -10. This antagonistic people indicates customers are mostly unhappy pinch your brand.
If your NPS is negative, you request to return action.
Start by analyzing feedback from detractors to pinpoint communal issues—whether it's merchandise quality, work delays, aliases mediocre customer support.
Next, activity connected implementing changes that straight reside these concerns. Like investing successful amended training for your support squad aliases considering utilizing chatbots for quicker replies if customers are unhappy pinch slow responses.
Customer Satisfaction Score
Customer restitution people (CSAT) measures really happy customers are pinch your marque overall. You tin way CSAT among your societal media followers by sending them a nonstop study nexus done messages aliases sharing a nexus to a survey.
Here’s the look to cipher CSAT:
CSAT = (total number of satisfied responses / full number of responses) x 100
If 80 retired of 100 customer respondents bespeak they’re satisfied, your CSAT people would beryllium 80%. Meaning the mostly of your customers are happy pinch your brand.
Let’s spell complete immoderate of the astir important metrics that are circumstantial to your paid societal campaigns:
Cost Per Click
Cost per click (CPC) is really overmuch you salary for each click connected your pay-per-click (PPC) ads. It’s astir commonly utilized for lead procreation campaigns and tin thief you find whether your fund could beryllium utilized much efficiently for societal ads for illustration this one:

When creating an advertisement campaign, you tin group a maximum costs per click based connected your budget.
Here’s really to cipher CPC:
Cost per click = full costs of clicks / full number of clicks
So, let’s opportunity you tally a Facebook advertisement run pinch a full walk of $500 and it receives 1,000 clicks. Using the formula, your existent CPC would beryllium $0.50.
Cost Per Thousand Impressions
Cost per 1000 impressions (CPM) is really overmuch you salary for each 1000 impressions your advertisement receives. This intends the CPM exemplary useful good for consciousness campaigns.
Here’s really to cipher the mean costs per 1000 impressions:
Cost per 1000 Impressions = (total costs of run / full impressions) x 1,000
Suppose you tally a LinkedIn advertisement run that costs $800 and generates 200,000 impressions. Using the formula, your CPM would beryllium $4.
This LinkedIn advertisement is simply a bully illustration of the type of promotion that companies usage the CPM exemplary for:

Return connected advertisement walk (ROAS) calculates the gross earned comparative to the money spent connected an advertisement campaign. To understand the financial effectiveness of your advertisement campaigns.
Over time, this helps you place which campaigns are the astir profitable. So you tin put much successful akin ads.
Here’s the look for calculating ROAS:
Return connected advertisement walk = gross from an advertisement run / costs of moving the advertisement campaign
For example, if you earned $2,000 successful gross from an advertisement run that costs $1,000, your ROAS is 2. This intends you earned $2 successful gross for each dollar spent connected the campaign, indicating a profitable campaign.
Monitoring societal media metrics mightiness sound overwhelming.
But Semrush Social offers a complete toolkit to negociate and way societal media performance.
You tin continuously show really you execute comparative to your competitors utilizing Social Tracker. And enactment connected apical of your ain metrics pinch Social Analytics.
Get started pinch Semrush Social today.