10 Hacks Every Google Messages User Should Know

Lifehacker Tech by 6 min read 32x views
10 Hacks Every Google Messages User Should Know

Share Post

Emily Long is a freelance author based in Salt Lake City.

After graduating from Duke University, she spent multiple years reporting on the national workforce for Government Executive, a publish of Atlantic Media Company, in Washington, D.C. She has nearly a decade of cognition as a freelancer covering tech (including issues connected to security, privacy, and streaming) as fine as individual backing and travel.

In supplement to Lifehacker, her activity has been featured on Wirecutter, Tom’s Guide, and ZDNET. Emily has additionally worked as a journey guide about the U.S. and as a satisfied editor. She has a masters in social activity and is a licensed therapist in Utah.


Google Messages is Google's authoritative texting app, and during it hasn't continually been archetypal to rotate out helpful features, it has caught up to what another messaging services recommendation and has a fistful of hidden hacks to create communicating and coordinating alongside contacts easier and safer. Here are the finest tips and tricks that all Google Messages person should know.

Use the Keep integration to coordinate collection events immediately in Google Messages

Google Messages lately got a Google Keep integration, which allows collection conversation participants to collaborate on notes and checklists immediately in the communication thread without having to click complete to a distinct app. This additionally centralizes ideas in one location fairly than dispersed throughout a thread alongside dozens of distinct content messages. Changes to Keep Notes sync automatically for all users. Tap the plus icon in the communication create bar in Google Messages, choose Keep Notes, and either choose an existing note or tap to create a new one to be shared in the chat.

Turn on advanced scam finding to defend against safety threats

Over the final few years, Google has rolled out a figure of safety features for identifying and defending against scams and fraud dispersed via calls and content messages. These activity by detecting suspected spam and either preventing it from being delivered or hiding it in a distinct folder, as fine as flagging doubtful links. A newer opt-in enhanced safety mode for Google Messages uses AI to capture additional complex threats and vigilant you if a conversation or unfamiliar nexus that looks legit power put you at risk. Standard safety is on by default, but you can rotate on enhanced safety under Messages settings > Protection & Safety > Spam and scam protection.

Use scheduled dispatch to outline texts during maintaining fine boundaries

If you have an idea you desire to compose downward but not dispatch immediately—because it's exterior of activity hours or delayed at night—you can outline it in Google Messages and agenda it for later. "Send later" features in messaging and conversation apps are helpful for maintaining fine boundaries without having to recall to category and dispatch at a distinct time. Once you've entered your communication in the content field, contact and clasp Send, choose from the suggested actions, afterward tap Send again.

Customize rub actions for Google Messages inbox triage

Swiping remaining or correct on your conversations in Google Messages volition either archive or delete them. You can customize which rub maps onto which act for quick inbox triaging or disable one or the two to forestall accidentally triggering an unwanted action. Tap your profile photo > Message settings > Swipe actions > Customize to choose your preferences.

Star messages to preserve crucial data to an aggregated list

Google Messages has a pinning characteristic that volition anchor conversations at the top of your communication history, but you can additionally celebrity crucial messages you desire to preserve and come back to later. Starring makes it uncomplicated to keep track of data akin escape information, contacts, or dates that power alternatively get misplaced in a thread or be difficult to drag up in a essential search—starred messages have their own hunt filter. Simply tap and clasp the communication and tap Star at the top, afterward go to Search conversations > Starred > More options > Starred to see your catalog of saved messages.

Turn on impermanent snooze to silence collection chats during live events you're not watching

We've all been in the overactive collection conversation that we don't desire to see notifications from in genuine period but additionally don't desire to leave. You can snooze threads semi-permanently, but you can additionally rotate on a impermanent snooze that volition lift so notifications restart following a abbreviated duration of time. This can be helpful for threads discussing live events or games you volition be catching up on afterward or if you need silence during a focused activity period. Touch and clasp the conversation, tap Snooze, afterward choose your duration and tap Snooze to confirm. You can choose from 1 hour, 8 hours, 24 hours, or always.

What do you think so far?

Use Mass Text to dispatch BCC messages and obtain idiosyncratic replies

Google Messages has two collection conversation modes. Group MMS is your representative collection text—it sends a sole communication to all recipients, and everyone receives replies in the thread. Mass Text, by contrast, is akin BCC. This sends your communication to all person individually, and replies arrive lone to the first sender. Using this manner allows you to portion data alongside a bunch of group at formerly without creating the dreaded reply-all thread. You can alter your default collection messaging settings via profile > Message settings > Advanced > Group messaging.

Enable real-time location sharing whenever you need person to cognize you're safe

Google Messages finally launched unified real-time location sharing before this year, which allows you to dispatch your live whereabouts to trusted contacts immediately in a communication thread. Location sharing makes it easier to coordinate gathering up or let person cognize anywhere you are if there are any safety concerns. You can set a constricted duration or depart location sharing on indefinitely for particular contacts. Open a conversation and tap Attachment > Real-time location

Use "Delete for Everyone" to eliminate messages you accidentally sent

You don't have to live alongside the embarrassment of sending a content in error alongside Google Messages—at smallest not if you capture the error quickly. Google Messages has a "Delete for everyone" function that can eliminate sent messages from the devices of users who are operating the latest type of the app. Conversations must be using RCS for this to work, and you have lone a constricted window—anywhere from 15 to 40 minutes, according to assistance documentation—to use the characteristic before your messages are permanent. Long-press a communication to drag up accessible delete options.

Log into the web interface to use Google Messages on your device

If you desire to remain on top of your content threads but get distracted by another things all period you choice up your phone, you can log into the Google Messages web interface on your browser. This additionally makes it easier to dispatch photos and records from your device via Google Messages without having to transfer them to your phone first.

Emily Long is a freelance author based in Salt Lake City.

Other Article Lifehacker Tech
↑
Close Right Ads
Close Left Ads